Skip to main content

TCI College Library: Center for Academic Success (Learning Center)


The TCI College Library's website is linked to a catalog of TCI-owned library books and materials,
instructional sheets and tutorial resources, answers to frequently-asked questions (FAQs), and useful databases and websites.

Center for Academic Success (Learning Center)

LEARNING CENTER = THE NEW CENTER FOR ACADEMIC SUCCESS

Center Information

Center for Academic Success (Learning Center)

The Center for Academic Success (Learning Center), located in Room C-7 on the Basement Level, is open Monday through Friday from 10 am to 6 pm.  Open labs are also available Monday through Friday.  (Hours are subject to change with Academic Calendar and holidays.)

TCI College offers extensive, free tutorial services providing our students personal attention with academic and related concerns.

In addition to a staff of knowledgeable full-time professional tutors, the Center employs peer tutors and provides an extensive open lab schedule. The Center offers small group, as well as individual instruction to support all TCI College courses. Special attention is paid to student learning styles and individual needs. The Center provides topical workshops on various topics; teaches students organizational, study, and test-taking skills; and prepares students for quizzes and examinations in their major. Upon an instructor’s request, the Center also administers make-up examinations.

The Center also maintains several computer workstations equipped with tutorial software packages that students can use to reinforce their educational skills.

Center Hours:

NOTE:  Hours are subject to change with Academic Calendar and holidays.

Monday 10 AM - 6 PM
Tuesday 10 AM - 6 PM
Wednesday 10 AM - 6 PM
Thursday 10 AM - 6 PM
Friday 10 AM - 6 PM
Saturday / Sunday CLOSED
Intersession 10 AM - 6 PM

Center Phone:

212-594-4000 Ext. 5791 / 5794

 

Staff:

Senior Director of the Library & Learning Resources: David Trudeau dtrudeau@tcicollege.edu

Director of the Center for Academic Success: Lloyd Cutkelvin lcutkelvin@tcicollege.edu

Tutor: Wilfredo Moran wmoran@tcicollege.edu

Tutor: Belkis Vasquez bvasquez@tcicollege.edu

Tutor: Miroslaw Wysocki mwysocki@tcicollege.edu  

Tutor: Miguel Morales mmorales@tcicollege.edu

YouTube - Study Skills

ACCUPLACER EXAM INFO

Helpful Links

Preparing for a Tutoring Session

Some great advice from the folks at Farmingdale State College:

  • Go to class, listen attentively, take notes, and address questions with your instructor to clarify any difficulties or problem area.
  • Attempt to do your assignments and practice problems before coming to a tutoring session.
  • Identify specific areas where you need help prior to attending your session.
  • Come prepared with all necessary materials, such as: class notes, textbook, past assignments, practice problems, and handouts.